Please login or register. July 23, 2014, 11:04:18 AM

Author Topic: Tracker wont start  (Read 655 times)

Offline csuthrower04

• Technical Prestige 0
  • ZUKIWORLD Online!
Tracker wont start
« on: July 28, 2013, 01:42:30 PM »
I was reading some other posts on here that were similar to my issue but I didn't want to confuse anybody so here is my issue.The other day I was driving down the road at about 40mph and my 1998 tracker just shut down.  I pulled over to the side and tried to restart it but the battery didn't have enough juice to do anything.  Thinking that was the problem I tested the battery which was no longer any good.  Upon replacing the battery, the engine will turn over but wont crank.  I have recently installed a new stereo added a body lift about 100 miles ago.. I know those upgrades sound silly to mention but I want to rule anything out..... Any advice would be great as I am a novice, but am determined to use my tracker to gain more automotive repair knowledge.

Offline Joe Llamahead

• Technical Prestige 9
Re: Tracker wont start
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 10:13:13 PM »
When you say " wont crank" you mean it wont start?

Offline csuthrower04

• Technical Prestige 0
  • ZUKIWORLD Online!
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 06:15:17 AM »
yes. 

Online fordem

• Enthusiast Contributor
  • Technical Prestige 95
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2013, 06:35:25 AM »
We're going to have confusion if we're not all "on the same page" - if the engine is turning over, it's cranking - but from the sound of it, it's not starting.

Check the basics - air/fuel/fire - crank the engine over a few times and then pull a spark plug - is it wet, can you smell gas?  Ground the plug against the head and have someone crank the engine whilst you watch - does it spark?

Does the CEL (check engine light) come on when you switch on the ignition?
'98 2.0 Grand Vitara

Offline csuthrower04

• Technical Prestige 0
  • ZUKIWORLD Online!
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2013, 07:05:49 PM »