Hello Guest

Want to make my 2002 chevy tracker more off -road worthy

• 16 Replies

Offline mudTherapy

• ZUKIWORLD Online!
Want to make my 2002 chevy tracker more off -road worthy
« on: April 23, 2018, 11:40:04 AM »
So I have a 2002 Chevy Tracker that I want to make a little more off-road worthy. I can do regular maintenance, but I'm not a mechanic by any means so not sure how to begin or how far I should go for the type of performance that I want.
I want to be able to still drive it on the HWY so not wanting to go all swamp-buggy on it...I would like to get it to where mud and water ain't going to stop it though...I'm also looking to spend under $4,000 if possible.

What would be a good lift?
Tire size?
What kind of modifications need to be made?

Thanks in advance.

Online fordem

Re: Want to make my 2002 chevy tracker more off -road worthy
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 07:02:19 PM »
You're going to need to be a little more specific as to what you hope to do with the vehicle, and if you can't, my advice would be to go drive the vehicle "as is" and see how far it will take you and then decide how much you need to modify it.

Mud & water will stop any vehicle (except for maybe a hovercraft), and if you think that's not true, just add more water.

Having said that - a stock 2002 will go through twenty plus inches of water with little trouble (assuming a reasonably firm base), and I would strongly suggest you avoid deep mud unless you have deep pockets and like spending money on maintenance.
'98 SQ420 Grand Vitara
'05 JB420 Grand Vitara
'16 APK416 Vitara
'21 A6G415 Jimny

Offline mudTherapy

• ZUKIWORLD Online!
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2018, 01:27:04 PM »